Monday, October 10, 2011

Mailbox Monday

It time for Mailbox Monday again! You know that weekly ritual where you share all the ways in which you prove to be addicted to the wonderful feeling of buying and receiving books.

I only post this when I have actually received/purchased a book or books in most cases. For this reason, you can be sure that you will not see Mailbox Monday every week, otherwise I might need an intervention. Now, on to the good stuff. . . 

Title: The Name of the Star (Shades of London, #1)
Author: Maureen Johnson
Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
Pages: 384
The day Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London marks a memorable occassion. For Rory, it's the start of a new life at a London boarding school. But for many, this will be remembered as the day a series of brutal murders broke out across the city, gruesome crimes mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper events of more than a century ago.
Soon "Rippermania" takes hold of modern-day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man police believe to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him. Even her roommate, who was walking with her at the time, didn't notice the mysterious man. So why can only Rory see him? And more urgently, why has Rory become his next target? In this edge-of-your-seat thriller, full of suspence, humor, and romance, Rory will learn the truth about the secret ghost police of London and discover her own shocking abilities. (Taken from Goodreads)

Title: Sex On The Moon
Author: Ben Mezrich
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing
Pages: 308
Thad Roberts, a fellow in a prestigious NASA program had an idea - a romantic, albeit crazy, idea. He wanted to give his girlfriend the moon. Literally.
Thad convinced his girlfriend and another female accomplice, both NASA interns, to break into an impregnable laboratory at NASA - past security checkpoints, an electronically locked door with cipher security codes, and camera-lined hallways - and help him steal the most precious object in the world: the moon rocks.
But what does one do with an item so valuable that it's illegal even to own? And was Thad Roberts - undeniably gifted, picked for one of the most competitive scientific posts imaginable, a possible astronaut - really what he seemed? (Taken from Goodreads)

Title: The Girl Is Murder
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 352
Iris Anderson is only 15, but she's quickly mastering the art of deception in this YA novel for fans of Veronica Mars. It's the Fall of 1942 and Iris's world is rapidly changing. Her Pop is back from the war with a missing leg, limiting his ability to do the physically grueling part of his detective work. Iris is dying to help, especially when she discovers that one of Pop's cases involves a boy at her school. Now, instead of sitting at home watching Deanna Durbin movies, Iris is sneaking out of the house, double crossing her friends, and dancing at the Savoy till all hours of the night. There's certainly never a dull moment in the private eye business. (Taken from Goodreads)

I know I cannot wait to read these. I have always been fascinated by the Jack the Ripper story and who can resist a NASA conspiracy story. Oh, and who watched Veronica Mars? I know I did! These all look like fascinating reads.

Happy Reading!


Tweet This

1 comment:

  1. Ahhh. My copy of TNOTS is still not here. I'm hoping it'll show up this week - it looks so amazing!

    Very intrigued by the other two. Especially The Girl is Murder!

    Hope you enjoy them. :)